What Order to Watch Vampire Diaries, The Originals and Legacies – A Comprehensive Guide

what order to watch vampire diaries, the originals and legacies

What Order to Watch Vampire Diaries, The Originals and Legacies

Diving into the supernatural world of Vampire Diaries, The Originals, and Legacies can seem a bit intimidating with their interweaving storylines. But don’t worry! I’ve got you covered on how to navigate these thrilling shows.

First off, let’s get one thing straight: the order in which you watch these series matters. That’s because each show builds upon the previous ones, introducing new characters while developing existing ones. Now, if you’re new to this universe or simply need a refresher course on where to start and what order to proceed in, here are some easy-to-follow guidelines.

Start with The Vampire Diaries. It’s the mothership series that introduces us to most of the key players including Stefan and Damon Salvatore along with Elena Gilbert. Afterward, make your way through The Originals, which focuses on Klaus Mikaelson and his family of original vampires. Finally, transition into Legacies, where Hope Mikaelson (Klaus’ daughter) takes center stage at her supernatural boarding school.

Remember folks – it’s all about enjoying the journey rather than rushing through it! So grab some popcorn, settle down comfortably and prepare yourself for an unforgettable supernatural ride!

The Intriguing World of Vampire Diaries, The Originals and Legacies

Jumping into the captivating universe of Vampire Diaries, The Originals, and Legacies can feel a little daunting at first. With multiple storylines intertwining over three series, you might wonder where to start. I’ve been there too, and that’s why I’m here to help you navigate through it all.

First off, let’s talk about “The Vampire Diaries”. It’s the cornerstone that sets the foundation for everything else. It kicked off in 2009 as a supernatural drama based on L.J. Smith’s book series. The show focuses on a love triangle involving Elena Gilbert (Nina Dobrev), Stefan Salvatore (Paul Wesley), and his brother Damon (Ian Somerhalder). What makes this series unique is its ability to balance teenage angst with an intricate mythology involving vampires, witches, werewolves among other supernatural beings.

Following the successful run of “The Vampire Diaries”, we were blessed with its spin-off series – “The Originals”. This one dives deeper into the lives of Mikaelson siblings who are considered to be original vampires in history. Set in New Orleans’ vibrant backdrop, it blends family politics with ancient curses resulting in a darker tone compared to its predecessor.

Lastly comes “Legacies”. If you’re wondering how it fits into this universe, well it continues the saga by focusing on Hope Mikaelson – the daughter of Klaus Mikaelson from “The Originals”. Being set at Salvatore School for the Young and Gifted allows us to explore more about young witches, vampires and werewolves trying to control their abilities while dealing with typical teenage issues.

Navigating through these shows can seem like uncharted territory but trust me when I say this – every twist and turn brings forth an engaging narrative worth diving into!

Understanding the Chronology: What Order to Watch?

Embarking on a viewing journey through the supernatural world of “The Vampire Diaries,” “The Originals,” and “Legacies” can seem daunting at first glance. With multiple intertwining storylines, it’s crucial to watch these series in the correct order to fully grasp their captivating narrative.

In order to dive into this supernatural saga, you’ll want to start with “The Vampire Diaries.” This show kicked off the franchise in 2009 and spans eight seasons. It introduces us to the key characters and sets up the lore that will be expanded upon in other shows.

Next up is “The Originals”. The spin-off focuses on a family of vampires introduced during season two of ‘The Vampire Diaries.’ Although its pilot aired during ‘Vampire Diaries’ fourth season, I’d recommend watching all eight seasons of ‘Vampire Diaries’ before moving onto ‘The Originals’. Doing so ensures you’re well-versed in their backstories and character dynamics.

Once you’ve completed five seasons of ‘The Originals,’ it’s time to switch over to ‘Legacies.’ This series debuted while ‘Originals’ was still airing but follows events set after its finale. It centers on Hope Mikaelson, a character we meet later in ‘Originals,’ along with other supernatural teens at Salvatore School for the Young and Gifted.

To summarize:

  • Start with all eight seasons of “The Vampire Diaries.”
  • Follow it up with five seasons of “The Originals.”
  • Wrap things up by switching over to “Legacies.”

By following this sequence, you’ll enjoy an uninterrupted flow from one storyline into another. You’ll get acquainted with every character’s journey while also experiencing how they evolve throughout each series.